Mark  Plesent Photo

The Mark Plesent Commission Fund

Conceived with Mark Plesent before his passing in February 2021, The Mark Plesent Commission Fund supports the commission and development of new plays by working people– in particular, those who have not had the privilege or the resources to self-identify or support themselves professionally as artists, but who have shown extraordinary talent, consistency of practice and a commitment to writing within the mission of Working Theater.

The fund raised $75,000 when launched with the goal of running for five years, and providing 10 playwrights with their first professional commission. Thank you to our community who made this fund possible! 

10000+Howard Gilman Foundation,Twin Oak Philanthropic Fund,5000+Distracted Globe Foundation,Axel Stawski,2500+Robert Ackerman,Stephen Meringoff,Faith Ryan,1000+Anonymous,Barbara Cohn,Kate Doyle,EmblemHealth,Bill Henning,Jordan Fox,Jonathan & Patricia Kay,Norman & Sandy Reisman,500+Anonymous,Thomas Acosta,Dominique Bravo,Dan Cohen,Emily Franzosa,John & Brett,Daniel Kaslow,Anne Newman,Lavender Rouzier,Frances Spark,Karen Stempel,250+Anonymous III,Peter Bernstein,Nicholas Betito,Phelim Dolan & Lauren Zalaznick,Richard Koven,Gwen Krause,Virginia Louloudes & John Harrison,William V. Madison,Michael Milligan,Cynthia Schneider, Patricia White, Max Schneider-White,James Spindler,Jeffrey Steinman & Jody Falco,Daniella Topol,Jennifer Dorr White,Peregrine Whittlesey,Barbara Zakin,

100+Anonymous IV,Carlo Allen,Robert Arcaro,Alkesta & Curtis Belknap,Caryn Bernstein,Ben Bohen & Peter DuBois,Melissa and Andrew Bogdan,Lucrecia Briceno,Pamela Brill,Melissa Brown,William Carden,Connie Coddington,Myra Coffield,Esther Cohen,The Cookie Fund,Joy Cooper,Susan Davidoff,Victoria Doyle,Bernadette Elstein,Roslyn F.,Marisa Fazzina,Arthur Fierman,John Franzosa,Elizabeth Dawn Froemke,Connie G.,Constance Gemson,Ellen Golding,Elise Goyette,Judith Guberman,Jeremy Handelman,Jim Harder & Tim Cahill,Kristin Horton,Denise & Jim Houghton,Bob Jaffe,Marjorie Kaplan & Michael Stanislawski,Randi Karpinia & Family,Kathryn Kaufman,J Keane,Elizabeth Klaber,Scott Krowitz,Ronald Languedoc,Deborah LaVine,Nancy & Christopher Letts,Will MacAdams,Eduard & Zhaneta Maili,Lisa McNulty,Miguel Mendiola,Ellen Mittenthal & Rick McKim,Elizabeth Morgan & Colleen O’Shea,Judy Neichin,Richard Osman,Laura Aden Packer,Eugenia Perez,Catherine Pfordresher,Roger Phillips,Emanuel Plesent,Jerry Polner,Denyse & RJ Reed,Jacquelyn Reingold,Lauren Roth,Samuel Rudy,Michele Sacks,Elliot & Beatrice Samuelson,Daniel Schaefer,Rebecca Schull,Bobby Score,Nandita Shenoy,Kate Skinner,Gabriel Sloyer,Greg & Margie Carbonell Smith,Jennie Smith-Peers,Jan Snyder,Christine Stile-Mazzeo,Sarah Cameron Sunde,Cori Thomas,Leyla Vural,Nicole Watson,The Weiner Family,Janet Weiss,Susan Wilson,Adam and Katy Wolpert,Workers Unite Film Festival, Inc.,Stefanie Zadravec,50+Anonymous IV,Lee Alderson,Julia Barry,Carly J. Bauer,Kari Bentley-Quinn,Michael Bernard,Helene Blieberg,Jessica Brigandi,Peggy Cheng,Jessica Doyle,Maya Evans,Corey Friedlander,Sandy and Joe Green-Navarro,Elaine Greenstein,Cindy Horowitz & Seth Hochman,Jackie Keller,David Kernahan,The Klueber Family,Andrea Kuchlewska,Peggy Kulesz,Rochelle Lewis-Fanali,Kate Loewald,Neysa Lozano,Kathlene McDonald,Edelen McWilliams,Courtney Powell & Tate Nova,Paul Orefice,John Papandrea,Heather Raffo,Thom Rivera,Peter & Joan Salzman,Mia Savvides,Emily Sproch,Giselle Stevens,Linda Ury Greenberg,Mark Valdez,Nikki Walker,Doris Wallace,Haruko Yamauchi,25+Anonymous,Bruce Allardice & Victoria Abrash,Leila Buck,Neysa Caplan,The Chernoff Family,Rachel Falcone & Michael Premo,Anne Ficklen & Thomas Hibbard,Liz Frankel,Madeleine George,Elizabeth Goettler,Jenny Haight,Deadria Harrington,Lori & David Hudson,Claire Kavanah,Lisa Kerchman,Alisa Klein,Josh Landay,Hope Levy,Joean Lim,Eva Mueller,Lorraine O’Brien,Nabil Vinas,Carol Yellin,10+Anonymous IV,Caron Atlas,Allen & Marsha Costa,LeeAnne Hutchison,Joshua Medsker,Jeremy Stoller

2021 Recipients


Carlos Cotto’s childhood centered around two iconic NYC neighborhoods where he was born and raised, Harlem and Washington Heights. Growing up in a bilingual household, his love of stories began with a mix of telenovelas and primetime TV shows. Employed as a vacation relief porter right out of high school, Carlos was formally introduced to theater by Working Theater and its TheaterWorks! program. The program helped cultivate his love for magical realism which is now a defining feature of many of his plays. From a mayfly’s first day on the job to a doorman’s fever dream battle with a pickle jar, his plays joyfully expand on the surreal nature of a service worker’s livelihood. Carlos was featured in Working Theater’s “Best of TheaterWorks” production off-Broadway in 2020.

John Keane was born and raised in the Bronx NY and currently resides in Westchester county. He has been a member of 32BJ for nineteen years and works on the upper east side of Manhattan. John has had a lifelong interest in art, photography and writing. He has written four short 10-20 minute plays in the last four years. John is a first generation Irish-American and his writing is heavily influenced by the music, songs, stories and people he grew up around. John is currently enrolled at CUNY Hostos and is pursuing a degree in liberal arts.

Maggie Diaz Bofill (Carlos’s Mentor) is a writer and actor living in New York City. She is a founding member of LAByrinth, and is also a member of Ensemble Studio Theater (EST), The Playwright Director’s Unit at The Actor’s Studio and The Dorset Theater Festival’s Women Artists Writing Group. Her produced plays include: WINNER (Ensemble Studio Theater, Dir. Pam Berlin, Special Drama Desk Award for Outstanding Season at EST); DRAWN AND QUARTERED (INTAR Theatre, Dir. Lou Moreno, NY Times Critic’s Pick); FACE CREAM and EL GRANDE (EST One-Act Marathons); SWIPE the musical (Tribeca Arts Center, Dir. Lori Kee).

Lucy Thurber (John’s Mentor) is the author of twelve plays. Her five play cycle THE HILL TOWN PLAYS was produced Off-Broadway by Rattlestick Playwright’s Theater in conjunction with The Cherry Lane Theater, The Axis Theater and The New Ohio Theatre. Lucy’s theatrical homes are Rattlestick Playwright’s Theater, The Atlantic Theater, LAByrinth Theater, New Dramatists and The Lark where they have produced and supported her. Lucy is published by Dramatists Play Service. She is an alumni of New Dramatists, A member of 13P, LAByrinth Theater Company, Rising Phoenix Rep and New Neighborhood. Lucy has been commissioned by Playwrights Horizons, The Contemporary American Theatre Festival, Houses on The Moon, Yale Rep, Williamstown Theatre Festival, A.C.T. and Steppenwolf Theatre. She is the recipient of Manhattan Theatre Club Playwriting Fellowship, the first Gary Bonasorte Memorial Prize for Playwriting, a proud recipient of a LILLY AWARD, an OBIE Award for THE HILL TOWN PLAYS and The Helen Merrill Distinguished Playwriting Award. She has written for SWEETBITER on STARZ and is a writer/producer on AMC’s NOS4A2 and Amazon’s OUTER RANGE. She has written screenplays for Debra Granik and Rachel Weisz and Maven. Lucy has upcoming projects with AMC, HBO, Nanette Burstein and Sarah Paulson.